NewsTechnologyTrends

Microsoft Windows 11 launch: How to watch live here on June 24

Share this article

[ad_1]

One of the most used pieces of software on the planet is about to get an upgrade. Microsoft is set to announce a new version of its Windows software on Thursday, with a reported new look as well as upgrades under the hood. The new update, believed to be called Windows 11, comes six years after the last iteration, Windows 10, was first released.

Early leaks suggest the new Windows 11 look will include subtle pastel-like color schemes, rounded corners and airy alert sounds. It’ll have little widget programs to tell you the weather or track a shipped package. Its iconic start menu, typically shoved to the left side of the task bar at the bottom of the screen, will migrate to the middle, with app icons arranged in the center next to it, seemingly inspired by a smartphone, tablet or Apple Mac computer.


Now playing:
Watch this:

Microsoft, please fix these problems with Windows. Please.



4:06

Read more: Everything we expect from Windows 11

When Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella teased the new Windows software to app developers last month, he touched on the tone the upgrade will set. “When storefronts closed … you helped us reimagine where humanity can go and what we can do, transcending time and even space — and it’s just the beginning,” he said.

The new version of Windows is launching at an unusual time for the tech industry. Despite chip and other supply shortages, analysts estimate that laptop and desktop computers may see their highest-ever sales this year. In many ways, that’ll make Windows an answer to the new hybrid work life many people are pushing toward now

Why upgrade: Microsoft prepares Windows 11 for the post-pandemic world

When

Microsoft will announce its newest version of Windows on Thursday, June 24, at 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. BST / June 25, 1 a.m. AEST (sorry, Australia).

Where

You can watch live here, on CNET, or on our YouTube channel CNET Highlights. 

[ad_2]
Source link

Tags: , , , , ,
HTC Vive Focus 3 hands-on: The future of VR beyond Oculus Quest 2
A PS5 restock will happen at Sony’s PlayStation Direct today (Update: Sold out)


Best rewards credit cards for June 2021

iPhone 12 water test: How deep can Apple’s phone really go?

ASRock’s DeskMini Max concept houses AMD Ryzen, dGPU and liquid cooling in a 10L case

Fast and Furious 9 review: The Godfather II of Vin Diesel car crash movies

Nvidia is increasing supply of the RTX 3060 from next month

Nvidia is increasing supply of the RTX 3060 from next month

I switched from Android to iPhone and here’s what happened

iPhone 13 camera: The specs and features the rumors say we’ll see

Watch Microsoft

Watch Microsoft’s Windows 11 unveiling right here at 8am PT / 11am ET

Aliens could have already spotted Earth from over 2,000 different star systems

Earth-like worlds in the Milky Way may be a lot less common than we thought

You May Also Like

Menu